Campus News

Magazine Section: 
Nota Bene

Ramsey Andary and Daman Singh were elected President and Vice-President, respectively, of the UC Literary and Athletic Society 2016-17. Andary, a commerce student entering his fourth year, was Vice-President of the Lit in 2015-16. Singh is a political science student entering his third year.


Members and friends of the Art Museum at the University of Toronto celebrated the contributions of former board chair Diana Bennett (BA 1965 UC), who finished her term as chair of the Museum's advisory board in June, at a dinner at Bissell House. The Art Museum is the new federation that partners the U of T Art Centre at UC with the Justina M. Barnicke Gallery at Hart House.


Congratulations to UC student Angeline Bellehumeur, who completed an unprecedented perfect season as part of the University of Toronto Varsity Blues women's volleyball team, which also won its first national title this year. She graduated in June 2016 with a degree in Environmental Geography and Environmental Studies.


More than 230 friends of the Mark S. Bonham Centre for Sexual Diversity Studies at UC gathered at Hart House on April 13, 2016 for the fourth annual Bonham Centre Awards Gala. Celebrated for their contributions as LGBT business and policy leaders were Selisse Berry, founder and CEO of Out & Equal Workplace Advocates; Heather Conway, Executive Vice-President, CBC English Language Services; and Col. Jennifer Pritzker, founder of the Tawani Foundation and President of Tawani Enterprises, Inc. Guests were thrilled by the surprise announcement of a $60,000 gift from Pritzker towards a new trans studies course.


On March 11 and 18, respectively, Canadian Studies and Health Studies students held their annual end-of-year symposia. The events allow students to showcase their research projects and develop presentation skills—opportunities that can be rare at the undergraduate level. Also on March 18, students representing each of the College’s signature programs, including the UC One: Engaging Toronto seminar series for first-year students, gathered to share their work at Research and Practice Day.


University College student Marko Cindric was honoured with a Student Engagement in the Arts Award in recognition of his leadership role in the arts community at U of T. Marko is the editor-in chief of DEMO, the Hart House Music Committee online and print issue magazine. Marko is the editor-in-chief of DEMO, the Hart House Music Committee online and print issue magazine. He is a fourth-year student in cinema and fine arts.


E.J. Pratt Professor of Canadian Literature and University College faculty member George Elliott Clarke has published a novel, The Motorcyclist (HarperCollins, 2016).


In February, Cognitive Science program students took part in the University of Toronto Interdisciplinary Symposium on the Mind, which attracted leading researchers in the field from around the world. The conference was organized by the Cognitive Science and Artificial Intelligence Students’ Association (CASA). CASA was also named course union of the year for 2015-16 by the Arts & Science Students’ Union.


University College welcomed 697 new graduates to its alumni community at spring Convocation on June 14, 2016. Thomas Keymer, University Professor and Chancellor Jackman Professor of English, delivered the Convocation address.


Brenda Cossman, Director of the Mark S. Bonham Centre for Sexual Diversity Studies at UC and a professor in the Faculty of Law, was honoured with a Lexpert Zenith Award 2016 for her contributions to diversity and inclusion in the legal profession.


University College faculty member Professor Cynthia Goh has been appointed the inaugural Academic Director of the Banting & Best Centre for Innovation & Entrepreneurship. She is a physical chemist, cross-appointed to the Departments of Chemistry, Materials Science and Engineering, the Institute of Medical Science, and the Munk School of Global Affairs.


Professor Ana Pérez-Leroux’s term as Director of the Cognitive Science program has been extended through June 30, 2018. She is a Professor of Linguistics and of Spanish and Portuguese, and will be taking a one-year leave starting July 1, 2016, during which time Dr. John Vervaeke will act as Director.


Health Studies student Lily Ren took tops honours in an undergraduate research competition sponsored by the National Initiative for the Care of the Elderly. Lily is also the Vice-President of the Health Studies Students' Union. Her project looked at the incidence of hip fractures in seniors who are prescribed benzodiazepine, with a focus on those living in community dwellings and long-term care facilities. This marks the second year that a Health Studies student has taken the first place.


Professor Tamara Trojanowska of the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures has been appointed Director of the Centre for Drama, Theatre, and Performance Studies for five-year term commencing July 1, 2016. The Centre is an affiliate of UC.


University College was illuminated in green light every evening during the week of May 2, 2016 for mental health awareness.


Professor Nelson Wiseman’s term as Director of the Canadian Studies program has been extended through June 30, 2018. Wiseman, a Professor in the Department of Political Science, will be taking a six-month leave starting January 1, 2017; Professor Smaro Kamboureli, Avie Bennet Chair of Canadian Literature in the Department of English, has graciously agreed to step in as Acting Director of Canadian Studies during that time.