Campus News

Magazine Section: 
Nota Bene

Disillusioned: Victorian Photography and the Discerning Subject, a book by University College faculty member and Associate Professor in the Department Jordan Bear, won the prestigious 2016 Historians of British Art book award for a post-1800 subject.


More than 200 guests including students, faculty, members and friends of the LGBTQ community gathered in Hart House's Great Hall for the 2017 Bonham Centre Awards Gala on April 26. Indigenous LBGTQ leaders Lee Maracle, Kent  Monkman, Candy Palmater, and Teddy Syrette were honoured for their contributions to the advancement of human rights issues surrounding sexuality. Maracle is an elder and prolific author, Monkman is one of Canada's leading artists, Palmater is an entertainer and speaker on Indigenous issues, and Syrette is a two-spirit activist and facilitator. Special guests included Ontario Lieutenant-Governor, the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, the Ontario Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation, the Honourable David Zimmer, and the Chancellor of the University of Toronto, the Honourable Michael Wilson.


University College welcomed 584 new graduates to its alumni family at University College Convocation on June 20, 2017. Distinguished photographer Edward Burtynsky gave the Convocation address.


University of Toronto President and University College faculty member Meric Gertler has been reappointed for a second term. He will lead the University thorough June 30, 2023.


Professor Christina Kramer of the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures has been appointed Acting Vice-Principal of University College through June 30, 2018, while Vice-Principal John Marshall is on sabbatical. She is a specialist in Balkan and South Slavic languages. She served as chair of the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures from 2003 to 2011 and as acting chair in 2012.  She was elected to Governing Council in 2009-11, and has participated in a wide range of Faculty of Arts and Science administrative and governance roles.


Lisa Mar, Richard Charles Lee Chair in Chinese Canadian Studies at University College, was recognized as one of 15 distinguished Chinese Canadian women at Celebration 15: Voices of Chinese Canadian Women in Ontario. She also received the Leadership in Asian Canadian Studies award from the Congress of Social Science and Humanities, on the University of Toronto’s behalf.


Students enrolled in University College’s signature academic programs gathered last March for Research and Practice Day, an annual event showcasing their year-end projects on topics as varied as food addiction,  sex education, and robotics, just to name a few. The event is part of UC's commitment to reinventing undergraduate education, one of the three priorities for the University identified by President Meric Gertler.


Cecille Sioulis and Maureen Smith were honoured with the Principal’s Distinguished Staff Award for their exceptional service to University College. Cecille is the UC Academic Programs Coordinator, while Maureen is Business and Programs Coordinator at the Art Museum’s University of Toronto Art Centre location at UC.


Professor Walid Saleh, founding director of the Institute of Islamic Studies at the University of Toronto and a UC faculty member, received the Konrad Adenauer Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The award honours researchers in Canada whose discoveries and insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline and beyond, and whose personality and research contribute to the academic and cultural exchange between the Federal Republic of Germany and Canada.


1837: The Farmers’ Revolt, a 1973 play co-written by journalist and UC Canadian Studies instructor Rick Salutin and Theatre Passe Muraille, showed this past summer at the Shaw Festival in Niagara-on-the-Lake.


A play entitled for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf, directed by University College faculty member Djanet Sears, showed at Toronto’s Soulpepper Theatre this past summer to rave reviews.


Congratulations to the students who have been elected to the University College Literary and Athletic Society 2017-18. They are, from left to right, back to front: Albert Hoang, President; Ryan Gomes, Speaker; Michelle Beyn, Upper Year Rep; Paul Schweitzer, Mid Year Rep; Aidan Swirsky, UTSU Rep; Anushka Kurian, UTSU Rep; Danielle Stella, University and Academic Affairs Commissioner; Aster Gerard, Mid Year Rep; Mahzeb Ashraf, Upper Year Rep; Dan Proctor, Spirit and Communications Commissioner; Kshemani Constantinescu, UTSU Rep; Sameer Rai, Upper Year Rep; Michelle Zhong, Sustainability Commissioner; Raye Negatu, Finance Commissioner; Tua Hytonen, Social Commissioner; Kaitlyn Ferreira, Literary and Creative Arts Commissioner. Not pictured: Martha Beach Bartel, Services Commissioner; Sarita Bhukal, Mid Year Rep; Miranda Desbiens, Mid Year Rep; Mira El Hussein, Equity and Outreach Commissioner; Victoria Kourtis, Vice-President; Priya Gupta, Mid Year Rep; Olivia Jordan, Mid Year Rep; Sara Mandia, Off-Campus Commissioner; Benjamin Wang, Athletics Commissioner. 


Professor Sarah Wakefield has been reappointed Director of the Health Studies program for a three-year term through June 30, 2020. She is an Associate Professor in the Department of Geography and Planning. Her research interests include food security in Canada, community development and neighbourhood change, and environmental justice. Her first term has been marked by innovative curriculum reform, including the development of a practicum for fourth-year students; closer collaboration with the Dalla Lana School of Public