News from Classmates Near and Far

Magazine Section: 
Class Notes

Brenda Andrews (BSc 1980 UC) was named a Companion of the Order of Canada in recognition of her globally significant research in systems biology, and for developing and nurturing prominent scientific communities in molecular genetics. She is a Professor in the Department of Molecular Genetics and Director of the Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research at the University of Toronto.

Robert Armstrong (BA 1969 UC) has published Broadcasting Policy in Canada, Second Edition (University of Toronto Press, 2016). Revised and updated to reflect the impact of digital media on Canadian broadcasting and developments in the regulatory framework, this edition offers a comprehensive overview of the policies that provide the foundation of Canada’s broadcasting system.

Cynthia Ashworth (BA 1985 UC) was appointed Vice President of Brand & Messaging at DocuSign Inc.

Nicolae Babuts (BA 1957 UC), Emeritus Professor of French at Syracuse University, published Literature and the Metaphoric Universe in the Mind (Transaction Publishers, 2015).

Doctor Carolyn Barshay-Szmidt (BA 1995 UC) and her husband Ben welcomed their second daughter, Cora Elisabeth, in August 2014. Big sister Maya (4) is thrilled and loves to make Cora giggle. Carolyn is a consulting scholar at the University of Pennsylvania Museum, conducting research on palaeolithic archaeology. Ben continues to enjoy his work as a radiologist and has recently become head of nuclear medicine at the local hospital.

Author and historian Michael Bliss (BA 1962 UC) was named to the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame for his writings on Canada’s heritage of medical research and health care. He is University Professor Emeritus in the Department of History at the University of Toronto.

Laura Bosco (BA 2013 UC), currently a medical student at Queen’s University, received the Export Packers and Rubenstein Family Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Award, which recognizes outstanding third-year medical students who demonstrate perseverance, collaboration, and an entrepreneurial spirit.

Irene Chang Britt (BA 1984 UC) was appointed to the board of directors of The Men’s Wearhouse.

Johnny Cheung (BA 1987 UC) has been appointed Regional General Counsel for Generali Asia, where he will lead legal, corporate, and compliance affairs.

Ed Clark (BA 1969 UC), former president of TD Bank Group, was named a Companion of the Order of the Canadian Business Hall of Fame. He was also appointed to the board of directors of Thomson Reuters Corp.

Filmmaker David Cronenberg (BA 1967 UC) was honoured with a lifetime achievement award from the Director's Guild of Canada.

Accounting and finance expert David Danziger (BCom 1980 UC) was appointed as an independent director of Poydras Gaming Finance Corp.

James Diamond (BA 1978 UC) was honoured with the 2015 Canadian Jewish Literary Award for his book Maimonides and the Shaping of the Jewish Canon (Cambridge University Press, 2014). He is the Joseph and Wolf Lebovic Chair of Jewish Studies at the University of Waterloo.

Donald Guloien (BCom 1980 UC), President of Manulife Financial, was named to the board of trustees of The Hospital for Sick Children.

Eric Helleiner (BA 1986 UC) was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He is a Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Waterloo and an expert in the politics of global finance.

Accountant and financial analyst Perry Ing (BCom 1997 UC) was named Chief Financial Officer of Kirkland Lake Gold Inc.

Katherine Lee (BCom 1986 UC) was appointed to the board of directors of both Colliers International Group and BCE.

Bonnie Madonik (BSc 1980 UC) was honoured with the Physician Achievement Award in Addiction Medicine from the Ontario Medical Association. She is medical director of North York General Hospital's addiction program and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine and the Department of Psychiatry at U of T. 

Celebrated novelist Anne Michaels (BA 1980 UC), who served as Barker Fairley Distinguished Visitor at UC in 2014-15, has been named poet laureate of Toronto.

Distinguished medical researcher and former U of T president David Naylor (1974 UC) was inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame. A building on the St. George campus was also recently renamed in his honour. The C. David Naylor building is located at 6 Queen’s Park Crescent in Toronto.

Erna Paris (BA 1960 UC) was named a Member of the Order of Canada for her efforts to bring attention to human rights issues as an author and activist.

The Honourable Bob Rae (BA 1969 UC), former premier of Ontario, published What’s Happened to Politics? (Simon & Schuster, 2015).

Adam Shuhendler (BSc 2003 UC) was awarded the 2015 Polanyi Prize for Chemistry, which recognizes exceptional contributions by researchers in the early phases of their careers.  He is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Ottawa.

Mario Silva (BA 1989 UC), former member of Parliament for Davenport, was appointed distinguished visiting professor at Ryerson University’s Ted Rogers School of Management.

Sari Springer (BA 1986 UC) was named managing partner of employment law firm Littler Mendelson’s first Canadian office, which opened in Toronto last summer.

Hans Wong (BCom 1994 UC) was appointed Chair of Sino Golf Holdings.


Send your news to