Skip to main content
Unsupported Browser

Your Browser is out of date and is not supported by this website.
Please upgrade to Firefox, Chrome, or Microsoft Edge.

UC student convocation 2018

Donald C. Ainslie Leadership Awards

About the Ainslie Leadership Awards

Join the UC community is celebrating the leadership of Donald Ainslie, Principal of University College from 2011-2019.  Donald's term as Principal is coming to a close on June 30.  He is widely admired for his remarkable contributions to the UC student experience, academic programming, support of alumni engagement, and, especially, for spearheading the Revitalization of the University College Building. 

In tribute to his transformational leadership, and to encourage University College students to look to his example for inspiration, the Donald C. Ainslie Leadership Awards have been established by alumni and friends of UC.  the Ainslie Awards are intended to inspire undergraduate students to excel intellectually, to commit to the highest levels of engagement and leadership, and to prepare them for life in the wider world.

Terms of the Awards

The Ainslie Leadership Awards will, in furtherance of UC's mission, inspire undergraduate students to excel intellectually while committing to the highest levels of engagement and leadership, thus preparing them for life in the wider world. Each year University College will grant a minimum of four awards to second-year and third-year UC students. Candiadates will be expected to be maintaining high academic standing, while demonstrating exemplary extra-curricular and co-curricular leadership through their exceptional contributions to the quality of student life at University College and U of T.


University College students, faculty and staff are eligible to nominate UC students for consideration. Nomination forms must be co-signed by at least one other student, staff or faculty member. The College reserves the right to limit or increase the number of awards in every given year. Beginning in 2020, the Ainslie Leadership Awards will be presented at the annual University College Merit Awards Ceremony held near the end of the academic year.

The Donald C. Ainslie Leadership Awards Fund Honorary Committee

  • 2018-2019 University College Alumni Association Executive;
  • 2018-2019 University College Literary and Athletic Society;
  • Former Principals Sylvia Bashevkin, Paul Perron, Peter Richardson;
  • Diana Bennett (BA 1965 UC);
  • Mark S. Bonham (BCom 1982 UC);
  • Paul M. Cadario (BASc 1973);
  • Edmund Clark (BA 1969 UC);
  • Bruce Kidd (BA 1965 UC);
  • Pia Kleber (BA 1974 UC);
  • H. Ian Macdonald (BCom 1952 UC);
  • Olga L. Pugliese-Zorzi (BA 1963 UC);
  • Ho K. Sung (BSc 1980 UC)

Help Us Say Farewell to UC Principal Donald Ainslie

Donate now and join us at our Farewell event on May 23.