Campus News

Magazine Section: 
Nota Bene

University College was voted runner-up in the Best Historical Building category of NOW Magazine's Best of Toronto 2014 readers' poll. Toronto’s Distillery District earned the top spot.

Stare. Print. Blue - Voyeuring the Apparatus, a durational performance-installation project conceived by UC faculty member Antje Budde and produced by the University of Toronto’s Digital Dramaturgy Lab, project showed in Berlin last summer.

Professor Tom Keymer, a UC faculty member and Chancellor Jackman Professor of English at U of T, delivered the prestigious Clarendon Lectures at Oxford University last fall.

Professor Lisa Mar was named the Richard Charles Lee Chair in Chinese Canadian Studies. The endowed Chair, housed within the Canadian Studies program at UC, was established through a $4 million anonymous donation and will enhance understanding of issues facing Chinese Canadians, as well as patterns of Canadian immigration, integration, multiculturalism, and belonging.

Professor Brian Schmidt, who delivered the N. Graham Lecture at University College last fall, was honoured with a Breakthrough Award in Fundamental Physics for his work on dark energy. He and his team had previously been honoured with the Nobel Prize and the Shaw Prize.

Congratulations to the UC Advancement team who were honoured by the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) with two awards in 2014: a gold in the special events category for The Dog Days of UC, an alumni engagement series that sees the UC quad transformed into an off-leash dog park; and a bronze in the fundraising cases category for The Campaign for University College, which outlines the advancement priorities for UC.

Congratulations to the UC Dean of Students team, who were honoured with an Excellence Through Innovation Award from the University of Toronto for their work on the Pre U of T orientation event. They worked with student orientation coordinators Munira Lila and Niroja Thirugnanasampanthar, who wanted to familiarize incoming students with their subject area “sector”—the area on campus in which most of their classes would take place. The event also enabled students to meet with faculty members in their sectors before the start of classes.  Five other colleges and the Faculty of Arts & Science joined UC in the initiative.

Congratulations to the UC student athletes who achieved honours standing (AGPA ≥ 3.50) during the 2013-14 academic year: Angie Bellehumeur; Andrew Greig; Robert Guo; Kevin Hu; Jessie MacAlpine; Kelly O’Hanlon; Mile Pajovic; Philip Remillard; Aidan Robern; and Amanda Stojcevski.

More than 170 alumni, students, and friends of University College gathered at Hart House on November 6, 2014 for the third annual UC Alumni of Influence Awards, a celebration of distinguished UC graduates. Presiding over the event was master of ceremonies Alexa Petrenko (BA 1977 UC), a UC alumna and host of Classical FM 96.3’s Sunday Night at the Opera. Principal Donald Ainslie gave opening remarks, praising the honourees for “taking what they learned at UC and using it to change the world for the better.” Tony Clement (BA 1983 UC), MP for Parry Sound-Muskoka and a UC alumnus, brought greetings from the Parliament of Canada.

University College was illuminated in red light on the evenings of December 1 and 6, 2014 in honour of, respectively, World AIDS Day and Canada’s National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women.