Norma Epstein Foundation Award for Creative Writing: National Literary Contest for University Students

The Norma Epstein Foundation Awards in Creative Writing at University College at the University of Toronto were established in 1946 in memory of Norma Epstein (UC '45). Biennial National prizes are offered in the total amount of approximately $2,000, open to any student currently registered in an undergraduate or graduate degree program at a Canadian university. There will be a National Norma Epstein competition in 2017. The deadline for submission is May 1.

Past UC and National Norma Epstein Award winners include David Adams Richards, Barbara Amiel, Stephanie Bolster, David Cronenberg, Janice Kulyk Keefer, Michelle Landsberg, Anne Michaels, Michael Ondaatje, James Reaney, and Miriam Waddington.

Conditions Governing the National Norma Epstein Awards:

  1. These awards are open only to students currently registered in an undergraduate or graduate program in a Canadian university.
  2. Entrants may submit no more than two entries in total and no more than one entry in any of the categories: Poetry; Drama; Novel; Short Story.
  3. Entries in the categories of Poetry, Drama, Novel, and Short Story may include a poem or small group of thematically related poems, a play of any length, a short story or small group of thematically related short stories of up to 7,500 words, an excerpt from a novel of up to 7,500 words.
  4. No composition shall have been previously published commercially.
  5. There is a National Norma Epstein Award in 2017. Entries shall be submitted under a pseudonym to University College by May 1. Please use the online entry form.