Unsupported Browser

Your Browser is out of date and is not supported by this website.
Please upgrade to Firefox, Chrome, or Microsoft Edge.

The Founding College of the University of Toronto

Norma Epstein Foundation Awards in Creative Writing: University College

Established in 1946 in memory of Norma Epstein (UC ’45), the Norma Epstein Foundation Awards in Creative Writing offer prizes in the categories of Poetry, Drama, Short Story, and Other Prose. This year, the total amount available is approximately $8,000.

Past UC and National Norma Epstein Award winners include David Adams Richards, Barbara Amiel, Stephanie Bolster, David Cronenberg, Janice Kulyk Keefer, Michelle Landsberg, Anne Michaels, Michael Ondaatje, James Reaney, Colleen Thibaudeau, and Miriam Waddington.

Conditions Governing the Norma Epstein Awards:

  1. These awards are open to students enrolled in University College or to students from other colleges who are enrolled in University College-sponsored or affiliated courses or programs.
  2. Course instructors may nominate a student with the student’s consent.
  3. All entries shall automatically be entered into each of the competitions for which they are eligible. Students may submit no more than one entry in each of the following categories: Poetry; Drama; Short Story; and Other Prose.
  4. Entries in the categories of Poetry, Drama, and Short Story may include a poem or small group of thematically related poems of up to 1,200 words, a play of up to 10,000 words, or a short story of up to 7,500 words.
  5. Other Prose includes such forms as journalism, biography, and travel literature. Entries in the category Other Prose must not exceed 7,500 words.
  6. You may submit previously published work.
  7. The Writing Awards Committee may, if appropriate, choose to move an entry to a different category.
  8. The names of the award winners will appear on the University College website.
  9. Copyright shall remain with the author.
  10. Entries shall be submitted online by May 15.