Skip to main content
Unsupported Browser

Your Browser is out of date and is not supported by this website.
Please upgrade to Firefox, Chrome, or Microsoft Edge.

The Founding College of the University of Toronto

Writing Awards at UC

Awards for UC and UC-program students

The following four competitions are open to students enrolled in University College or to students from other colleges who are enrolled in University College-sponsored or affiliated courses or programs. Entries will automatically be considered in each of the competitions for which they are eligible. The next deadline for all UC Writing Awards is May 1, 2023. Applications will be accepted in the fall of 2022.

  • Established in 2007 in memory of Meyer Greenstein (UC ’40), the Meyer (Mike) Greenstein Memorial Student Award for Writing Excellence offers a single prize of up to $1,000 each year for outstanding writing in an academic essay or creative work.
  • Established in 1946 in memory of Norma Epstein (UC ’45), the Norma Epstein Foundation Awards in Creative Writing offer prizes totalling approximately $8,000 each year in the categories of Poetry, Drama, Short Story, and Other Prose. 
  • Established in 1948 in memory of Professor Frederic Davidson (UC ’90), the Frederic Davidson Awards offer one prize of $2,000, one of $1,000, and one of $625 each year for any type of academic essay.
  • Established in 2019, the Lorne Tepperman Prize in Public Writing offers an annual prize of $1,000 for an outstanding paper on a topic of social significance in Canada aimed at a general audience.

Note:  there are a number of changes to the UC and National awards starting in 2022. Please read the guidelines carefully.